Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kenton County.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Erlanger Branch IGGUL C (Text) 33126009921911 Adult Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0385336608
  • Physical Description: 357 p. ; 24 cm.
  • Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, 2003.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Originally published in 2002 under title: Emperador, las puertas de Roma.
Subject: Caesar, Julius > Fiction.
Marius, Gaius, (approximately) 157-86 B.C. > Fiction.
Sulla, Lucius Cornelius > Fiction.
Heads of state > Fiction.
Generals > Fiction.
Genre: Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.

  • Library Journal Reviews : LJ Reviews 2002 September #1
    Right now, ancient Rome is all the craze, and this book should fit in well. The son of a senator and his bastard brother are raised together but find themselves increasingly at odds as the empire spirals toward civil war. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.
  • Library Journal Reviews : LJ Reviews 2002 October #2
    English writer Iggulden's first novel is the story of two young boys-Gaius and Marcus, raised as brothers though one is illegitimate-as they grow to adulthood in Rome two millennia ago. At that time, the republic was beginning to fall apart, a collapse that would result in the civil wars that brought the emperors to power. It was a time of turmoil, chaos, revolutions, casual violence, and savage brutality, and Iggulden's descriptions of the culture and environment are vivid. Although covering a period unknown to most lay readers, Emperor is a surprisingly fast and often exciting read. Iggulden admits to taking some liberties with history, and his masking the identities of Gaius and Marcus is unnecessary and distracting. While the real identity of Marcus (Et tu, Brute?) may be a puzzle, readers with a fair knowledge of Roman history will quickly identify Gaius (think of the Ides of March). Also, the roles of historical warlords Marius and Sulla are not well clarified. Still, this entertaining historical novel will appeal to fans of Steven Pressfield and Michael Curtis Ford. For larger collections. [Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 9/1/02; also, look for Colleen McCullough's The October Horse: A Novel About Caesar and Cleopatra, which will be released by S. & S. in November.-Ed.]-Robert Conroy, Warren, MI Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Additional Resources