Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kenton County.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Erlanger Branch YA KINEW W (Text) 33126020442525 YA Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780735269002 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 0735269009 (hardcover)
  • Physical Description: 285 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: [Toronto, Ontario] : Penguin Teen, 2021.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real ... Read More
Subject: Indians of North America > Fiction.
Video gamers > Fiction.
Self-esteem > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Indian reservations > Fiction.
Genre: Social problem fiction.

  • Baker & Taylor
    When Bugz, who is caught between the worlds of life on the Rez and the virtual world, meets Feng, they form an instant bond as outsiders and gamers and must both grapple with the impact of family challenges and community trauma.
  • Baker & Taylor
    When Bugz, who is caught between the worlds of life on the Rez and the virtual world, meets Feng, they form an instant bond as outsiders and gamers and must both grapple with the impact of family challenges and community trauma. Simultaneous eBook.
  • Penguin Putnam
    An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

    In the real world, Bugz is a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angst and life on the Rez. But in the virtual world, her alter ego is not just confident but dominant in a massively multiplayer video game universe.

    Feng is a teen boy who has been sent from China to live with his aunt, a doctor on the Rez, after his online activity suggests he may be developing extremist sympathies. Meeting each other in real life, as well as in the virtual world, Bugz and Feng immediately relate to each other as outsiders and as avid gamers. And as their connection is strengthened through their virtual adventures, they find that they have much in common in the real world, too: both must decide what to do in the face of temptations and pitfalls, and both must grapple with the impacts of family challenges and community trauma.

    But betrayal threatens everything Bugz has built in the virtual world, as well as her relationships in the real world, and it will take all her newfound strength to restore her friendship with Feng and reconcile the parallel aspects of her life: the traditional and the mainstream, the east and the west, the real and the virtual.

Additional Resources