Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero / Michael Kranish.

Kranish, Michael, (author.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kenton County.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Covington Branch 796.6092 T244k 2019 (Text) 33126022599769 Adult Nonfiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781501192593
  • ISBN: 1501192590
  • ISBN: 9781501192609
  • ISBN: 1501192604
  • Physical Description: x, 365 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, portraits ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Scribner hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Scribner, 2019.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliography (pages 343-349) and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
Acceleration. Birdie takes flight ; The rise of Major Taylor ; The president and the cyclists ; Birdie and Major in Indianapolis ; No such prejudice ; The bicycle craze -- The jump. The rivalry begins ; "Major Taylor's life in danger" ; The fighting man ; A rematch with Eddie Bald ; In pursuit of the championship ; "A race run for blood" ; A black man in Paris ; "The terribly dangerous and beautiful races" ; Voyage of the titans ; The caged bird sings ; "The strain is too great" ; A faraway land ; The changing world -- The finish. "I need your prayers" ; "My last race" -- Appendix 1: Major Taylor's cycling records -- Appendix 2: Major Taylor's training regimen.
Summary, etc.:
"In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Taylor, Major, 1878-1932.
Cyclists > United States > Biography.
African American cyclists > Biography.

  • Baker & Taylor
    "In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era. In the 1890s, the nation's promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation's most popular and mostly white man's sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world's fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn--especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World's Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor's life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populacewas booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World's Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history--the gateway to the twentieth century"--
  • Baker & Taylor
    Presents a portrait of groundbreaking athlete Major Taylor, who broke racial barriers at the height of the Jim Crow era by becoming the world's fastest and most famous cyclist.
  • Baker & Taylor
    "In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era"--
  • Baker & Taylor
    The award-winning author of Flight from Monticello traces the lesser-known story of Major Taylor, who broke racial barriers at the height of the Jim Crow era by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist. 100,000 first printing.
  • Simon and Schuster
    In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure&;the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world&;s fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era.

    In the 1890s, the nation&;s promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation&;s most popular and mostly white man&;s sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world&;s fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion.

    Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn&;especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World&;s Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor&;s life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day.

    From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World&;s Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history&;the gateway to the twentieth century.

Additional Resources