Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780698174276 (electronic bk)

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
This hilarious tale of a friendship that develops over a love of books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA!Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, it's going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boy's attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boy's eye—LOOK OUT! The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve. Using only two words—LOOK and OUT—Jeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come.Perfect for fans of It's a Book and Officer Buckle and Gloria. Praise...
Target Audience Note:
Kindergarten
0 Lexile.
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : Philomel Books, 2015. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB).
Genre: Electronic books.

  • School Library Journal Reviews : SLJ Reviews 2014 December

    PreS-Gr 1—Mack's latest picture book is told with only two words, but they convey an array of emotions, including excitement, surprise, anger, and sadness. A playful gorilla tries to get a boy's attention by flinging around books and stepping on them. But no matter how many times (or ways) the gorilla says, "Look" (14), the boy keeps his eyes on the television. As the gorilla's behavior becomes increasingly unruly, the boy's exclamations of "Look out!" become serious. When the gorilla accidentally breaks the TV, the boy shouts "Out! Out! Out!" but then discovers the joy of reading, and shares his discovery with the gorilla. "Look. Look! Look! Look!" he says while pointing to the gorilla and Tarzan characters on the page. Mixed-media illustrations and alternating font styles are set against different colored and textured backdrops. This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again.—Tanya Boudreau, Cold Lake Public Library, AB, Canada

    [Page 106]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Additional Resources