Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The school for good and evil The School for Good and Evil Series, Book 1

Chainani, Soman (author.). Lee, Polly. (Added Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062272812 (sound recording)
  • Physical Description: remote
    electronic resource
    electronic
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: New York : Harper Audio, 2013.

Content descriptions

General Note: Unabridged.
Summary, etc.: At the School for Good and Evil, failing your fairy tale is not an option.Welcome to the School for Good and Evil, where best friends Sophie and Agatha are about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime.With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are . . . ?The School for Good and Evil...
System Details Note:
Requires OverDrive Media Console (file size: 197730 KB) or OverDrive Media Console (file size: 387033 KB).
Genre: Electronic books.

  • School Library Journal Reviews : SLJ Reviews 2013 June

    Gr 5–8—Every four years in the village of Gavaldon, two children are stolen away by a mysterious person known only as the Schoolmaster. These children become students at the School for Good and Evil. One will be taught the ways of goodness, honor, and beauty; the other will be instructed in the ways of darkness and villainy. Twelve-year-old Sophie just knows she's destined to be picked for the school of Good this year, and can't wait to assume the role of a princess and meet her Prince Charming. Her best friend, Agatha, is surely villain material with her dumpy looks, black clothes, and dour demeanor. So how is it that Sophie winds up in the School for Evil and Agatha the School for Good? Now both girls must work to succeed in their new roles or face dire consequences. The girls' friendship will be put to the test in ways they never imagined. This debut fantasy will attract sophisticated readers with a love of fairy tales, particularly the dark side of them. Despite some redundant scenes and pacing issues, there's plenty of action and emotion to keep an audience well entertained. Fans of Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm (Dutton, 2010) and Shannon and Dean Hale's graphic novel Rapunzel's Revenge (Bloomsbury, 2008) will be swept along in this wild story of good, evil, and two friends caught in between.—Stephanie Whelan, New York Public Library

    [Page 143]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Additional Resources