Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The school for good and evil [electronic resource] ... Read More

Chainani, Soman,(author.).
Lee, Polly.(Added Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062272812 (sound recording)
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: New York : Harper Audio, 2013.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Unabridged.
Summary, etc.:
At the School for Good and Evil, failing your ... Read More
System Details Note:
Requires OverDrive Media Console (file size: ... Read More
Genre: Electronic books.

  • School Library Journal Reviews : SLJ Reviews 2013 June

    Gr 5–8—Every four years in the village of Gavaldon, two children are stolen away by a mysterious person known only as the Schoolmaster. These children become students at the School for Good and Evil. One will be taught the ways of goodness, honor, and beauty; the other will be instructed in the ways of darkness and villainy. Twelve-year-old Sophie just knows she's destined to be picked for the school of Good this year, and can't wait to assume the role of a princess and meet her Prince Charming. Her best friend, Agatha, is surely villain material with her dumpy looks, black clothes, and dour demeanor. So how is it that Sophie winds up in the School for Evil and Agatha the School for Good? Now both girls must work to succeed in their new roles or face dire consequences. The girls' friendship will be put to the test in ways they never imagined. This debut fantasy will attract sophisticated readers with a love of fairy tales, particularly the dark side of them. Despite some redundant scenes and pacing issues, there's plenty of action and emotion to keep an audience well entertained. Fans of Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm (Dutton, 2010) and Shannon and Dean Hale's graphic novel Rapunzel's Revenge (Bloomsbury, 2008) will be swept along in this wild story of good, evil, and two friends caught in between.—Stephanie Whelan, New York Public Library

    [Page 143]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Additional Resources