Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Trajectory  Cover Image Book Book

Trajectory

Gordon, Cambria (author.).

Summary: As the United States enters World War II, seventeen-year-old Eleanor wants to do something to help her Jewish relatives in Poland, so she puts her brilliant math skills to work for the US army to fine-tune a top-secret weapon that will help defeat the enemy.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781338853834
  • ISBN: 1338853821 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 9781338853827 (hardcover)
  • Physical Description: 285 pages ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Scholastic Press, 2024.

Content descriptions

Target Audience Note:
Ages 12 and up. Scholastic Press.
Grades 10-12. Scholastic Press.
Subject: Coming of age Fiction
Mathematicians Fiction
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 Fiction
Jewish youth Fiction
Genre: War fiction.
Historical fiction.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kenton County.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Erlanger Branch YA GORDO C (Text) 33126026248736 New YA Fiction Available -

  • Baker & Taylor
    As the United States enters World War II, seventeen-year-old Eleanor wants to do something to help her Jewish relatives in Poland, so she puts her brilliant math skills to work for the US army to fine-tune a top-secret weapon that will help defeat the enemy.
  • Baker & Taylor
    "As WWII rages overseas, 17-year-old Eleanor, a once-in-a-generation math whiz, is recruited by the U.S. Army and tasked with the ultimate challenge: to fine-tune a top-secret weapon that could secure the world’s freedom, but before she can do that, she must unlock an even bigger mystery: herself. Simultaneous eBook."
  • Scholastic

    Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Sharon Cameron, this is the stirring and dramatic story of one young woman who must find a way to overcome her deepest fears in order to unlock the secret that will help America and the Allies to victory as World War II rages on.

    Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is nothing like her hero Eleanor Roosevelt. She is timid and all together uncertain that she has much to offer the world. And as World War II rages overseas, Eleanor is consumed with worry for her Jewish relatives in Europe. When a chance encounter proves her to be a one-in-a-generation math whiz--a fact she has worked hard all her life to hide--Eleanor gets recruited by the US Army and entrusted with the ultimate challenge: to fine-tune a top-secret weapon that will help America defeat its enemies in World War II and secure the world’s freedom. This could be her chance to help save her family in Poland.

    Soon, she’s swept from the basement of an Ivy League engineering school, to the desert of California, to an Army Air Corps base at Pearl Harbor, and finally she takes to the skies above the South Pacific.

    But before she can solve this complicated problem, she must learn to unlock a bigger mystery: herself.

    Critically acclaimed author of The Poetry of Secrets, Cambria Gordon weaves an extraordinary story of remarkable courage and the will to unearth our deepest secrets, based on previously undiscovered true events.

    Advance praise for Trajectory:

    "Cambria Gordon's careful attention to setting and detail brings an unknown and surprising history vividly to life—and draws thought-provoking parallels to the present." —Amanda McCrina, author of Traitor and The Silent Unseen

    "Hidden Figures meets Code Name Verity in Trajectory, a richly detailed historical novel about Eleanor, a gifted female mathematician under pressure to get the results of her calculations right at the height of World War II. With members of her own Jewish family suffering a terrible fate in Europe, Eleanor is determined to make a difference—even if it means facing her fears head-on. I couldn’t put this down!” —Kip Wilson, award-winning author of White Rose and The Most Dazzling Girl in Berlin

    “Well-paced and immersive, Trajectory takes readers on an exciting journey from Philadelphia to the California desert to the skies over the Pacific theater in the Second World War. Equally powerful is Eleanor’s journey from timid high school senior hiding her math ability to problem solver unafraid to stand up to superiors and skeptics in pursuit of the Allies’ victory. Gordon’s novel honors the long-ignored women who helped make that victory happen.” —Lyn Miller-Lachmann, author of Torch, winner of the 2023 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for YA Literature.


Additional Resources