Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Safe : a memoir of fatherhood, foster care, and the risks we take for family  Cover Image Book Book

Safe : a memoir of fatherhood, foster care, and the risks we take for family / Mark Daley.

Summary:

"A heartrending and unforgettable memoir of an unlikely journey to parenthood through America's broken foster care system. What does it take to keep a child safe? As a long-time strategist and activist fighting for better outcomes for foster children, Mark Daley thought he had the answer. But when Ethan and Logan, an adorable infant and a precocious toddler, entered into their lives, Mark and his husband Jason quickly realized they were not remotely prepared for the uncertainty and complication of foster parenting. Every day seven hundred children enter the foster care system in the United States, and thousands more live on the brink. Safe offers a deeply personal window into what happens when the universal longing for family crashes up against the unique madness and bureaucracy of a child protection system that often fails to consider the needs of the most vulnerable parties of all--the children themselves. Daley takes us on a roller coaster ride as he and Jason grapple with Ethan and Logan's potential reunification with their biological family, learn brutal lessons about sacrifice, acceptance, and healing, and face the honest, heartbreaking, and sometimes hilarious challenges of becoming a parent at the intersection of intergenerational trauma, inadequate social support, and systemic issues of prejudice. For fans of Nicole Chung's All You Can Ever Know, Stephanie Land's Maid, and Roxanna Asgarian's We Were Once a Family, this touching and suspenseful memoir highlights the impossible choices all parents, in the foster system and beyond, face in raising children today. Safe shines a much-needed spotlight on how this country treats the most vulnerable among us, sounding a vital call to overhaul a thoroughly broken system"-- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781668008782 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 1668008785 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 9781668008799 (paperback)
  • ISBN: 1668008793 (paperback)
  • Physical Description: viii, 291 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2024.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
Protection -- Husband and husband -- Baby fever -- Love and risk -- Rainbow baby gate -- Jagged things -- All the single babies -- A home for little wanderers -- The story of my life -- House on fire -- Love is not all you need -- Powerball -- Spineless -- Bullet-riddled Nissan -- No blood, no foul -- The short straw -- Bruises -- The hardest goodbye -- Thanksgiving -- By the throat -- Purpose from pain -- Thank you.
Subject: Daley, Mark (Foster child advocate)
Foster parents > United States.
Foster children > United States.
Gay-parent families > United States.
Foster home care > United States.
Child welfare > United States.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kenton County.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show All Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Covington Branch 362.733 D141s 2024 (Text) 33126025865803 New Adult Nonfiction Available -

LDR 04220cam a2200505 i 4500
0011014235
003KCPL
00520240410012254.0
008230707t20242024nyu e b 001 0aeng
010 . ‡a 2023029083
040 . ‡aDLC ‡beng ‡erda ‡cDLC ‡dOCLCO ‡dOCLCF ‡dOCLCO ‡dIUO ‡dGO6 ‡dOCO ‡dRNL ‡dOCLCO ‡dIOU ‡dJBL ‡dVP@ ‡dBKL ‡dJTH ‡dYDX ‡dAZH ‡dCLU ‡dUJA ‡dKCE
020 . ‡a9781668008782 (hardcover)
020 . ‡a1668008785 (hardcover)
020 . ‡a9781668008799 (paperback)
020 . ‡a1668008793 (paperback)
020 . ‡z9781668008805 ‡qelectronic book
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1384410651
042 . ‡apcc
043 . ‡an-us---
05000. ‡aHQ759.7 ‡b.D36 2024
08200. ‡a306.8740973 ‡223/eng/20230830
092 . ‡a362.733 ‡bD141s, 2024
049 . ‡aKCEA
1001 . ‡aDaley, Mark ‡c(Foster child advocate), ‡eauthor.
24510. ‡aSafe : ‡ba memoir of fatherhood, foster care, and the risks we take for family / ‡cMark Daley.
24630. ‡aMemoir of fatherhood, foster care, and the risks we take for family
250 . ‡aFirst Atria Books hardcover edition.
264 1. ‡aNew York, NY : ‡bAtria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., ‡c2024.
264 4. ‡c©2024
300 . ‡aviii, 291 pages ; ‡c24 cm
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
504 . ‡aIncludes bibliographical references and index.
5050 . ‡aProtection -- Husband and husband -- Baby fever -- Love and risk -- Rainbow baby gate -- Jagged things -- All the single babies -- A home for little wanderers -- The story of my life -- House on fire -- Love is not all you need -- Powerball -- Spineless -- Bullet-riddled Nissan -- No blood, no foul -- The short straw -- Bruises -- The hardest goodbye -- Thanksgiving -- By the throat -- Purpose from pain -- Thank you.
520 . ‡a"A heartrending and unforgettable memoir of an unlikely journey to parenthood through America's broken foster care system. What does it take to keep a child safe? As a long-time strategist and activist fighting for better outcomes for foster children, Mark Daley thought he had the answer. But when Ethan and Logan, an adorable infant and a precocious toddler, entered into their lives, Mark and his husband Jason quickly realized they were not remotely prepared for the uncertainty and complication of foster parenting. Every day seven hundred children enter the foster care system in the United States, and thousands more live on the brink. Safe offers a deeply personal window into what happens when the universal longing for family crashes up against the unique madness and bureaucracy of a child protection system that often fails to consider the needs of the most vulnerable parties of all--the children themselves. Daley takes us on a roller coaster ride as he and Jason grapple with Ethan and Logan's potential reunification with their biological family, learn brutal lessons about sacrifice, acceptance, and healing, and face the honest, heartbreaking, and sometimes hilarious challenges of becoming a parent at the intersection of intergenerational trauma, inadequate social support, and systemic issues of prejudice. For fans of Nicole Chung's All You Can Ever Know, Stephanie Land's Maid, and Roxanna Asgarian's We Were Once a Family, this touching and suspenseful memoir highlights the impossible choices all parents, in the foster system and beyond, face in raising children today. Safe shines a much-needed spotlight on how this country treats the most vulnerable among us, sounding a vital call to overhaul a thoroughly broken system"-- ‡cProvided by publisher.
60010. ‡aDaley, Mark ‡c(Foster child advocate)
650 0. ‡aFoster parents ‡zUnited States.
650 0. ‡aFoster children ‡zUnited States.
650 0. ‡aGay-parent families ‡zUnited States.
650 0. ‡aFoster home care ‡zUnited States.
650 0. ‡aChild welfare ‡zUnited States.
77608. ‡iOnline version: ‡aDaley, Mark (Foster child advocate). ‡tSafe. ‡bFirst Atria Books hardcover edition. ‡dNew York, NY : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2024 ‡z9781668008805 ‡w(DLC) 2023029084 ‡w(OCoLC)1396080687
994 . ‡aC0 ‡bKCE
905 . ‡utbaker
901 . ‡a1014235 ‡bAUTOGEN ‡c1014235 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources